table saw needed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petercaldwell

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm looking to buy a table saw,just wondering what everyones recommendations would be. My requirements would be
Cast iron top
Sliding carriage
Adjustable blade height
Good depth of cut, hopefully 75mm or more at 90 degrees

Any advice?

I have been using the SIP 01332 for quite a few years and have been very pleased with it . Sliding carriage works well , with the extension table and sliding carriage it takes a bit of space . I will probably put it on the market later in the new year and posting some pictures of it . Also there are the Axminster products that are of good quality.

Most modern cabinet saws lack rigidity and have been value engineered down to a price. A compromise is struck between performance and cost. The heavier the saw in general the better the quality of the cut. Mass damps down vibration which results in a better quality of cut. However, heavy saws are difficult to move around in a small shop. So lightweight is often seen as an advantage. A paradox! To reduce weight the trunions are often scaled back. Instead of big beefy castings they can be pressed steel or very light weight. Equally the thickness of the cast iron top can be scaled back, often with the result that unless flawlessly stress relieved before machining will move and bend.
The accuracy of the main fence is paramount. All too often modern saws have very light weight fences that don’t lock properly / hold their longitudinal accuracy compared to the blade.
Under powered motors, smaller motors are lighter.

New:
For the money I don’t think you can beat a Sedgwick TA315. Good saw, very capable, made to last and be very accurate. The only thing I don’t like about them is that they are not easy to service.......which you would need to do extremely rarely.

Secondhand
Sedgwick TA315, LK