Table saw advice - one more time !

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Like many posters here, I am looking for a new table saw.
I have a good quality rail/circular saw system but that is not good for smaller objects, where it is better/safer to keep the tool fixed and move the workpiece.

Can anyone tell me if the Charnwood W614 really is a notch above the Ferm/etc range?
I am attracted by
- the relatively large table with folding extensions,
- the stand (??),
- but especially the belt drive.
That gives me the idea that it can be tuned - and with a high-quality blade it could become a good amateur system.

I am not a busy pro so I can spend time setting up if that leads to good results.

Any comments or experiences?

Hi Topaz,

I suspect you will get a similar response to me on this link:

https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/forums/view ... hp?t=16750

I can't comment on the Charnwood because I haven't seen / used it but I suspect for the price (£150) and the spec the general view will be DON'T BOTHER!!

The opinions on the forum (which I fully agree with now having given it some thought!) were that it is simply not worth buying a cheap table saw, ESPECIALLY if you have a half decent circular saw and guide.

Unless you're going to go for a £500+ model with cast iron and accurate fences you're probably better of sticking with what you've got.

If, like me, you had the NEED to just buy another tool then i'm sure there are plenty of others out there for you to 'invest' in :wink:

Hope that helps,

Cheers

Gary

Hi Topaz

Which saw and rail do you have as this might help us give you some ideas on getting over cutting small bit safely.

Does it start with a F :whistle: :wink:

Great, I was beginning to wonder what I had said wrong :wink:

I respect Gary's point and I know that is "current thinking" but the jump to £500 is just too far.