Table Saw advice - budget LumberJack 10" any good?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theMusicMan

Reaction score
Hey all

I have been making a few furniture bits and bobs and it is plainly obvious that in order to significantly improve the accuracy of cuts, I need some form of table saw. I was considering making one with an unused circular saw I have, but have also been looking on eBay etc for some low cost complete units. One I see regularly, and that comes in table top or stand with legs types, is the LumberJack 10" TS254EL.

Wondering if I should invest in this low cost unit for a year or so and see how it goes. I am only a total amateur at this and enjoy pottering around in the man pad I've recently built.

Whats your thoughts please folks?

If you're looking to only spend around £100 why not just get to one in Lidl at the moment as will work just as well as the LJ, It's a little cheaper and comes with a 3 year guarantee

If you buy a tablesaw that cheap, you're pretty much guaranteed that the fence will be horrendous and you will hate its inaccuracies within a very short space of time. You might be better off stretching your budget a bit more and getting a reasonable second hand one?

A while back I was after a table saw but money is tight, I was looking at second hand machines but they mostly tended to be either too expensive or knackered by excessive use

Then I spied a special in Aldi

Okay its not a top notch Axminster but neither does it have the same price tag ;-)

At the time I paid £89.99 delivered free but annoyingly I found one in store knocked down to £69.99 two weeks later

But frankly the £90 was worth it, I haven't caned it but so far it does all I need, the fence is pretty solid, two blades and a three year guarantee