Stormproof casement windows..... New territory!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harrris303

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just posted this in the design section but wasn't sure if that was the right place so I'll give it a try here instead!

I've agreed to make a large casement window for someone (3 sections, 2 full-size casements opening on either side, and a fixed one in the middle with a small opening one at the top).

They sent me some photos of the window I'm copying and it turns out to have stormproof casements, which is not something I've done before. I'm currently a bit of a student of joinery so I've made a couple of simple casement windows but nothing more complicated.

I'm sure there will be many more questions but my main one is this:
When designing and making the casements, would you make them deliberately oversized, too big for the frame, and then cut the rebate around the outside once they're assembled, so they then drop in but overlapping the frame on the outside?

If this is the case would you then have to change the design of the mortice & tenons to account for the wood you'll be cutting away at the end?

I've tried to explain myself as clearly as possible so I hope someone out there has a rough idea of what the hell I'm talking about haha. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer. Cheers.

Whenever I've had stormproof windows spec'd by an architect, I've fitted flush casements with big wide pineapple off gaskets around the sash. The other design I'm aware of is a normal casement with a larger overlap than normal and fitted with cranked hinges.