Quantcast
  • We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Startrite Bandsaw 351s

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

topchippyles

Established Member
Joined
8 Oct 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
49
Location
gwent
Been reading through a few posts on converting or running 3 phases machines on here and see that there are a few good guys on the subject.My situation is i have a 3 phase startrite 351A band saw and the details on the motor are shown below.I have a clark 5.5 HP converter so have tried on the bandsaw but no joy as yet.I normally run it in my other workshop on my transwave inverter so any ideas to use the clark or easier to change the motor to 240v.

Model 351a
415v
139126 serial number

5 hz 4.2 amp
 

Fitzroy

All the gear...
Joined
12 Mar 2013
Messages
1,300
Reaction score
241
Location
Aberdeen
An image of the motor name plate Is useful to see if it’s dual voltage. I’ve converted a couple of machines to use inverters without too much bother.
 

Myfordman

AKA 9Fingers
Joined
19 Jan 2013
Messages
2,317
Reaction score
123
Location
Southampton area
Been reading through a few posts on converting or running 3 phases machines on here and see that there are a few good guys on the subject.My situation is i have a 3 phase startrite 351A band saw and the details on the motor are shown below.I have a clark 5.5 HP converter so have tried on the bandsaw but no joy as yet.I normally run it in my other workshop on my transwave inverter so any ideas to use the clark or easier to change the motor to 240v.

Model 351a
415v
139126 serial number

5 hz 4.2 amp
You need to make sure that the artificial phase generated by the converter is NOT used for the controls, NVR etc
 

topchippyles

Established Member
Joined
8 Oct 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
49
Location
gwent
You need to make sure that the artificial phase generated by the converter is NOT used for the controls, NVR etc
Can you explain a little more please as this is the one i am using,Does it need to be wired up different ?

shopping.png
 

Myfordman

AKA 9Fingers
Joined
19 Jan 2013
Messages
2,317
Reaction score
123
Location
Southampton area
Possibly does. On the clarke L2 is the artificial phase so make sure the starter is powered from L1 and L3. If your changes then mean the motor runs backwards, then simply swap over L1 and L3 keeping L2 in the same place.
 

topchippyles

Established Member
Joined
8 Oct 2014
Messages
314
Reaction score
49
Location
gwent
Possibly does. On the clarke L2 is the artificial phase so make sure the starter is powered from L1 and L3. If your changes then mean the motor runs backwards, then simply swap over L1 and L3 keeping L2 in the same place.
This is the photo of the motor plate and switch,Tried wiring it today but converter keeps clicking out but tested another 3 phase motor of the same size and working perfect.??
 

Attachments

Latest posts

Top