Starting out power tools

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seanash

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I have a budget of £1200 to get myself a planer/thicknesser / jointer and a router table and router.
I'm new to the hobby but I don't want to have to upgrade within a year, I'm looking for equipment that will get me going and not hamper my progress with poor quality results.
I was looking at a titan planer thicknesser and the bosch 1181 table with a fixed router.
Any advice at all on these purchases would be great and I would really appreciate your guidance.

Absolutely, I'm looking forward to making a mess. We have hens so sawdust is always handy for the hen house. They keep me fed with eggs so it's the least I can do!
The first project I'm looking at is to make my own bench that houses the table saw and the router.

I meant to add that I'm looking at smaller scale projects to start out with but looking to build some furniture for the house. Items like bookcases, side tables etc.

A solid timber workbench free of clutter would be my preference, that and a good bandsaw.
Could get a nice 20" machine for that money, and it wouldn't be as dusty as the other machines.
Would likely need a decent supply to run such a machine, as with other dustier equipment plus extraction.
But, If you looked for cheaper three phase bandsaws which are dual voltage (240v), you could buy a hundred quid VFD to run from household 13a plug, and get away without needing extraction, since bandsaws suck most of the dust into the machine.

All the best
Tom

A decent extraction system will not only keep the mess under control it will help to keep your lungs happy down the line(y).Do you own a Table saw or bandsaw ? if not you might want to consider getting one so you can cut your timber down to size unless you buy it in pre cut but that will work out more expensive .