Srollsaw blade selection help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grommet

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm about to purchase my first scrollsaw and I would like to order some extra blades at the same time.
Being a complete novice with this type of saw, i'm unsure what blades i'll need to start with.
Could anyone give me some advice on what would be a good selection of blades and sizes to get me going.
Many thanks
Roger

Hi Roger

Which saw are you about to buy? There are two types of saw blades available, those with pins which usually 'rock' on the saw's arms, and those which are flat and clamped into the saw's arms. Generally speaking, saws which use the flat blades are the better choice.

You might find this thread quite helpful, and don't forget to have a look at the Hegner UK, Hobbies of Dereham and Shestowebsites too - they all sell decent flat blades.

Gill

Hi Gill,
Thankyou for the links. I know it's one of those 'how long's a piece of string questions'.
I think most of my first cuts will be in 1/4- 1/2 MDF or Ply, just to get the feel, and to find my way around the saw.
It sounds like i'll need to order a selection of blades and sizes, and just go for it.
I'm going to buy a Hegner 2SV.

If you buy a Hegner 2SV you'll almost certainly get a selection of Hegner's own blades supplied with the saw. They're pretty decent quality and, if I run out of the Flying Dutchman blades which I tend to prefer, I find them to be very acceptable alternatives. I haven't bought any new blades from Hegner for quite a while but the last time it only took them 2 days to deliver from the time I ordered on-line.

I'm sure you'll be delighted with your new saw - I love mine :) .

Gill

Hi Roger,