spraying

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lugo35

Established Member
Reaction score
hi all, am looking to learn how the spray lacquer and useing other finishes . does anyone know of where i could learn this. have looked in mags but most are french polishing(would love to learn that) and restoration, not spraying. andy

Hi Lugo,
Seems no-one wants to answer you :?

Look for books on finishing - Taunton do a few. I have to say I haven't found a definitive treatise myself, and have thought about writing one, but my own spraying facilities are pretty basic anyway. I don't have a booth, so I am reliant on good weather to spray outside.

Basic tips are:
Keep everything spotlessy clean.
Thin your finish.
Light coats are better than heavy coats.

I know that's only a start, but I'm no expert - I only wish I were.

Cheers
Steve

I think the usual one that is cited is by Andy Charron or something like that - as I have read it but never put any of it into action, I'll leave someone else to comment. Seems well-informed to a novice.

I would also suggest looking at some of the automotive painting forums for info on spray technique, the principles of application are basically the same even if the products are not.

There is a useful guide to setting up your gun here:
http://www.autobody101.com/articles/article.php?title=Paint Atomization

and some info on how to present the gun to the work here:
http://www.autobody101.com/articles/article.php?title=Gun Travel

...........Just did a quick google and turned up this site, which could be just what you're looking for.
http://www.woodweb.com/KnowledgeBase/KBFinishingGeneral.html

HTH,

Simon