Some first projects and interesting 'dovetails'

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Buckeye

Established Member
Reaction score
Just a couple of projects I have worked on recently. I am new to woodworking. I have a 6x12 shed. Way too small and incredibly frustrating. I bought a decent bandsaw and have a router and router table but hey we all have to start off somewhere.

Used to live in Ohio so built my son an Ohio barn like the one we used to have on our farm (only it was white and didn't have the Ohio bicentennial logo)

Built out of 6 mm ply and lots of lollipop sticks. Painted a barn red and weathered a bit. I painted the mural by making a print out and tracing it onto the side of the barn. The letters were cut out (masked) with a scalpel and spray painted on.

Sides cut on the bandsaw

barn1.gif

Under way with the lollipop sticks being stuck on

barn2.gif

Completed Ohio bicentennial barn

barn1.jpg

Top lifts up and over and the shelf lifts up

barn2.jpg

I tried to weather the sides a bit

barn3.jpg

The second project is a bookcase for the kids. 19mm birch ply with some pine cladding for the back. The birch ply cut pretty smooth but I had to plane and then fill smooth it out with some filler before painting. Worked pretty well.

case1.gif

cas2.gif

case1.jpg

The last one is some funny 'dovetails' on a cabinet we brought back from Ohio. It is in a couple of the pics above. Was in my wife's family since the 1860s, thought to have been used to be in a family owned store in downtown Columbus, OH. It is black walnut and the panels on the bottom doors are a good 17 inches wide. Would love some wood lile that now instead of cheap pine, maybe later.

The drawers have these 'dovetails'. Anyone know what their proper name is?

cab1.gif

Buckeye,