Small workshop equipment selection

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oaktree11

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all, I would welcome some advice from those more experienced than me (which will be most of you!)
I have just finished building my workshop which some of you may have read about here: new-member-of-the-group-and-my-planned-workshop-t98586.html
sorry, dont know how to hyperlink it!
Anyway, the sale of some other equipment (primarily my Myford super 7) will fund the purchase of some new toys!
I want to become more proficient at general woodwork and be able to accurately make boxes simple furniture etc. I need to be able to replace some hand skills with machine work because I dont have the time or desire really to gain them. I am an engineer and i dont have a problem with making things but I know that some of the hand skills i would like to have would take years of patient practice to perfect.
So, right now I have a good drill press, a new triton TWX work center and a Triton TRA001 router, and a secondhand, but good, Record Power PT260 planer thicknesser. I also have an evolution Rage 3 table saw which was great for building the workshop but is nowhere near as accurate as i will need going forward.
As far as I can see I need a better table saw. Not worried about handling sheet material, I will rip that down with a circular saw and a guide i have made. I was thinking of the Bosch GTS10XC?
SO....questions

1. What other equipment would you recommend as important
2. I would welcome comments of the Bosch saw (I note that it does not have standard size T slots so a 3rd party mitre fence is out?)
2. Can I get away without a mitre saw if I buy the Bosch table saw

I think 3 questions is enough for one post, thank you all in advance for the help

John