shipping items via courier

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mister S

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking of putting a couple if items in the For Sale forum and tried to get a feel for possible shipping costs. The items are just over 30 kgs, so pretty heavy. I looked on the parcel2go website (I've never used this before) and entered the weights and dimensions. The prices that came up were about £20, which seems reasonable.

Trouble is, just to be sure, I looked on the websites of the couriers themselves (TNT, City Link, etc) but couldn't get a quote there anywhere near as low as £20.

Has anyone any experience of using parcel2go? Is it really just as easy as dialling in the weight and sizes and then hitting "buy" button. Or am I missing something?

Thanks
Steve

I have used them for a few years and they are 100% people. Very reliable and they get such a discount because they buy deliveries wholesale.

Thanks Noggsy. I feel better about using them now.
Georges answer about bulk buying discounts also explains why as an individual, I can't make a one off shipment with CityLink, but I could via parcel2go.

Steve

i have used them a large number of times. The service is only as good as the couriers used, so difficult to judge how good or bad p2g are. If you do have issues, all they can really do is book another collection.

one further point. At a cutoff point on weight and/or length the price for parcel2go shoots up to pallet rate. There are other brokers out there- parcel broker is one IIRC- that have different cutoffs. When I bought my benchtop thicknesser, it was much cheaper to go elsewhere for the courier. that said, I always try parcel2go first, and unless it goes to a pallet rate would use them as first choice.