robert sorby wood turning chisels

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tec987

Reaction score
I have a set of robert sorby wood turning chisels 8 off which I can not sharpen I have been sharpening chisels for wood turning for many years with no problem, could these be fake chisels, the handles are the same with the robert sorby name the blades are not stamped with the name etc. any ideas please. I would like to sell these but not if they are fakes.

One simple method to compare hardness is spark comparison i.e. when the Sorby tools are ground are the sparks the same colour and volume as a sample piece of a tool of known hardness.

Apparently softer steels produce different sparks to harder tool steels

not very scientific but may give you a clue

this may help

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spark_testing

Hi

All of my Sorby tools have 'HSS Robert Sorby Sheffield England' and the tool designation etched into the tool steel. Unless Sorby have changed their policy recently, which I doubt, I would be very suspicious of your tools, they sound as if they are counterfeit.

Edited to add that I'm not aware of an eight tool 'set' supplied by Sorby.

Sorry Mick

Are they an old set with high carbon steel blades as opposed to the more modern high speed steel? You should be able to tell the difference between the two very easily from the sparks when you grind. The high carbon steel has straw coloured sparks which fracture - like a sparkler. The high speed steel has orange/red colour sparks which do not fracture.

Can you elaborate on what you mean when you say you can't sharpen them?

Paul Hannaby":1oz3t4fh said:
Are they an old set with high carbon steel blades

Good point - It didn't occur to me that the OP may have something other than that currently supplied :oops: