Request for a beeswax finish recipe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

velar

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Greetings all. Complete novice here. I have a couple of beehives and have always loved the smell of beeswax on/in wood.

I've seen several people on here saying they make up their own finishes and I'd like to experiment with that for a series of boxes I'm making. I'd like them to end up smelling of beeswax, but I need a good protective finish too as these will be handled (and in some cases probably fairly constantly abused, as they'll be for my kids'Pokémon cards etc.).

Can anybody advise on a recipe/method? There are many hinted at on here and there's an obvious consensus that inclusion of something harder like carnauba is necessary, and it's clear that quite a few experts on the forums have hit on a sweet spot, but frustratingly few actual recipes. Can anybody please help?

Just get some carnauba (flakes, ideally, it takes a while to melt) or some microcrystalline wax (if you can find it) and some white spirit or turpentine (the one and only use for turps substitute is cleaning brushes - there is no B.S. number for it) and melt together with your beeswax. Use some form of bain marie, obviously the stuff is flammable. I use turpentine as I like the smell, it doesn't really make the finished polish better. A high beeswax content smells wonderful but makes the polish very soft to the touch, and not much good for anything that's likely to be handled. A high carnauba content makes a harder polish that's more resistant to marking (fingerprints) but is a bit harder to buff up. The solvent content will determine the consistency of the end product, but there's no waste - try a mix, if you don't like it, melt it, add more of an ingredient to alter it.