question for those who sell work/do any freelance jobs

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hazel

Established Member
Reaction score
I am not very good at the whole asking for money and such side of things. I am not too bad when it comes to stuff I've made being sold as I have worked out a formula for that, but I am useless when it comes to other work... I have laid a fair bit of decking recently but with that the person offered a set amount on asking for the work. I have now been asked for a quote though and I have no idea how much to say or how to ask for it lol

any advise?

the current one is to put up a curtain rail, but need to work out how to do this in general and not just for this one job lol (also this job sort of adds to my needing to buy a drill thing :p )

You need to work out your day rate. This needs to be a figure that will cover your overheads, cover your home bills and gives you some extra for you so its worth it. With that you divide it by 8 and that's your hourly rate. To put up a curtain pole if local I would charge £10 call out plus an hour labour min.

Start taking note how long things are taking you to complete or how long it takes to lay a square metre of something. With this it will be easier to work out how much and how long.

You do all the work Hazel and i will look after all your money worries :mrgreen:

Seriously the above post from Hudson Carpentry gives you what you need to know :)

thanks.

I think I just get scared about loosing out on work or whatever by saying the wrong price, and I guess I'm still not as confident as maybe I should be in my abilities and as still a trainee feel I should have really really low quotes but don't want to go too low... and... as I have never hired anyone to do these things (as always done it myself) not sure what "normal" rates are lol