Planing wood with awkward grain?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nads

Established Member
Reaction score
Could anyone give me any advice on planing a board with gain in various directions. I am trying to plane some ash, which has gain in all sorts of different directions. I’ve tried planing the wood with the plane on the skew, but I’m still getting tear out. I’ve sharpened the blade super sharp and have adjusted the plane to as fine a cut as I can, what am I doing wrong? I am still fairly new to planing so any advice you could give me would be great!! :?

Thanks guys! :wink:

Nads

Nads,
Others here will be better placed than I for advise on plane types, blade angles, and bevel up or down etc

What plane are you using?

If the grain is really wild then perhaps a cabinet scraper would help.

Andy

You could try a scraper? Or a high angle on the plane blade?

Adam

Well it is possibly isn’t super shape by your standards Alf :wink: , but I did sharpen the blade using 800, 1200 & 8000 grit waterstones using my Veritas honing guide it it’s seems the sharpest I’m currently capable of getting it. It’s honed with a 25 degree bevel with a secondary mirco bevel (using the honing guide). I did think about using a cabinet scraper but, at what point do I use it, do I try and get the wood as flat as I can, and to the right thickness etc and then use the cabinet scraper or do I use it before that? :? I'm currently using a re-conditioned Record No.4 brought from Ray Iles with one of his blades fitted. Or is it time to get out my LV low angle jack with my 50 York bevel, it seems a bit extreme, as the gain in different directions isn’t that bad, but the wood is still tearing. :?

Nads":3bb3ji2q said:
Or is it time to get out my LV low angle jack with my 50 York bevel