Pin or Plain end blades ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anthraquinone

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am new to this scroll saw lark as I normally do wood turning. As such I have a question and possible some others later. At present I want to make some toys for my grandson. Dinosaurs, dragons, cars etc etc,

The scroll saw I have can take both types of blades and I have found that the pin end blades are much easier to change. I can see the advantage of plain ended blades if you want to enter the work through a small hole for internal cuts but other than that is one type generally better that the other or is it a personal choice?

Also there are many different types of blades available normal, reverse tooth , skip tooth etc etc. Is there one type that is generally better or is it a case of trial and error (not too much of that I hope) to see which works for me. I do not want to end up with a large selection of blades I have no use for.

AQ

Hi AQ.
I am also relatively new to scrollsawing so I am no expert. Like Brian, I also use only Pegas blades, nos 3 & 5. I cut from 3mm plywood to 50mm mahogany with no problems. Usually it is reverse tooth blades that I use because they give a smoother cut on the underside with no splintering. I think as a general rule pinned blades are much thicker than plain end blades and therefore are much more difficult to use when trying to cut tight corners. As I said I'm no expert but hopefully this helps a little.

Happy scrolling

Charley

Pin blades had limitations and bad work performance.
Pinless has no limitations and great performance.
And difference in price does not exist.

Pin blades are for cheap china scroll saw. When manufactuer can't afford to mount a little cube of metal for pinles blades. Only mont few cents cheeper wave spangle.

Buffalo Chas":2jpg42ie said:
Hi AQ.