Oxford tracksaw tablesaw help......

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iestynd

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to wood work, it's a bit addictive! I have a small garage (currently in negotiation with the gaffer(lovely
Wife) to see if I can extend it). Anyway I have some tools, a router, a sliding compound mitre saw, various drills/drivers, a 1/2 sheet sander, corded circ saw, cordless smaller circ saw etc. So a fair collection.
I am not not sure what to buy. I am working more with sheet materials, so thought a table saw would be a useful investment, but then I read this forum, people suggested track saws might be useful so this post is asking anybody within the Oxford area with a shop/garage etc, who has either a track plunge saw or a table saw or ideally both if they would have 30 minutes to let a fellow wood worker pick their brains and have a look at both tools. I'd be happy to bring some takeaway coffee/tea.

I'm not a weirdo, easy to talk too and live in Marcham with my family. I just want a hands on demo/look.

Thank you.

For full 8x4 sheets a tracksaw will be better in a small garage. Takes up no room at all.

The way I see it is that these two tools are chalk and cheese, if you use one you don't really use the other, if you have the space then it's a table saw every time, but space is very valuable so don't waste it.
I have both but rarely ever use the track saw.