Onduline Bitumen Sheet

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roughcut

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm considering shed roof coverings for an 8' x 8' shed with apex roof I will be building in the garden.
I think I may want something more durable than felt.
The two contenders at the moment are Onduline sheets or EPDM (rubber).
I have no experience of either.
Reviews I've read on the Onduline seem mixed as some people reckon it can sag slightly and allow water to pool in places.
However I wonder if that might be due to not spacing the timber battens correctly as Onduline recommend?

https://www.roofingsuperstore.co.uk/use ... -guide.pdf

I've seen a Peter Parfitt video (The New Brit Workshop) where he seems very pleased with it after lasting for 25 years+ on his shed roof.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUn9oIHt8Lc
But I was just wondering if any members on here had any experiences of this product good or bad?

I wouldn't be quite so quick to dismiss felt. I had a summerhouse done 11 years ago and paid a premium for top grade felt. You couldn't tear the stuff - I forget how long it was supposed to be guaranteed for, but it is still flawless.

I have used onduline and I didn't like it, but it was what the customer specified so I had to go along.

It is quite easily damaged when nailing, so extra attention needs to be paid. On the plus side it does seem to last quite well, I have seen some quite old roofs with it on, but I couldn't say exactly how old they were.

If it is properly supported it can't sag, so that isn't a worry.

T'were it me, I would use box profile or corrugated tin, if you are concerned about condensation you can have a not drip coating on the back for not much extra.