Novice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gav223

Reaction score
Hi all, i'm looking around for a new dining table and the ones I tend to keep looking at are solid wood in their natural state. One that stands out is around £1500 to buy and upon looking at it closely, it looks as if it is lengths of 4 by 3 biscuit jointed together. Although I am a complete novice at woodworking I am practical and pretty good with my hands.
There's a few things I would like to know, firstly are there any books, cd's or e-books I can get that will give me all the basics. How difficult is it to make a dining table. The wood used for this table is sheesham indian wood and although I think it has been stained with a dark colour there are light bits throughout, is there a way I could get this effect using cheaper wood.
Many thanks.

Hi Gav, welcome to the forum. A dining table sounds like an awfully big project for a novice. What workshop facilities/tools do you have or have access to?

I have a large garage where I keep my building tools, but do not have any woodworking tools at all. I don't mind investing some money on tools as there are a few things I would like to make. With regards to the table, I had a go a few months ago when I was testing if it would look ok. A carpenter I know said I could dowel the timber together if I didn't have a biscuit jointer. What I did was get some pieces of 4 by 3 rough sawn timber, fixed them together with dowels and then sanded the surface. As the table I was looking to buy was quite rough looking, my table looked almost identical, but on a smaller scale.

gav223":381nt50r said: