Novice questions re basic use.of Myford ML8

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GORDONZZR

Reaction score
Hi everyone total novice here just purchased a Myford ML8 and need some basic advice do I have to release the motor to adjust speed every time and which pullies are used for different speeds I note there are four pullies on the motor and four at the top end apart from running the motor to check it works smoothly I have yet to put lathe in situ ready for use. it is currently set up with belt on one of the middle bottom pullies and attached to the far right largest pullie should it not be in a straight line eg same size pullie.? and where would I buy a replacement belt.
Also It came with a three jaw Berned chuck is this suitable for bowl turning have only seen it used for metal turning on any videos I have watched.. I guess these questions have been asked elsewhere on this forum but being new have not got myself round it yet many thanks in anticipation of your help.