Not having a mid-life crisis......Honest!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billiards

Reaction score
As there doesn't appear to be a section for introductions, I will just post a bit about myself here, as Woodturning is the genre I am interested in.

I am 47 years old, married, no children. I have recently started a list of "Things to do before I reach 50". One of those 'Things' is woodturning. I did an apprenticeship with GEC mechanical handling as a Centre Lathe Turner/ Capstan setter. After many years in other industries, I have now gone complete circle, and am currently operating CNC machining centres.

Although I have always wanted to "have a go" at woodturning, I have never gotten around to it. However, one of my other passions unearthed the long forgotten want, which is now in full swing. I am a hobbyist magician, and whilst searching for a 'Wand', I discovered some staggering creations, with an even more staggering price-tag! Of course, like all good engineers, I thought, why not make my own. And there and then, a new hobby-want was born.

So here I am, itching to get started, money burning a hole in my pocket, time on my hands, a car-less garage, an understanding wife and a thirst for knowledge.......what else do I need?

This is where you guys come in. I have researched as much as I could, I have discovered this forum, read through an introduction to woodturning, set aside sufficient funding (I hope!) and am now looking to interact with 'Live' people, who can suggest, recommend and encourage.