Newcomer from Ireland

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello, another new member from Ireland.
Former architect turned software manager. Love woodworking and solving problems. Living in the middle of Ireland and working from home with family so the shed is my switch off space.
Only found this forum the other day looking for advice on lathe threads.
Recently got a shed built and filled it with tools I’ve been collecting and using from the middle aisle in Lidl.
I know they’re cheap, but I’m a hobbyist and that 3 year warranty takes a lot of pressure off buying tools.
Currently fitting out my shed with benches and starting into a French cleat wall, but timber supplies are running out and raw material is my biggest expense.
Looking forward to chats and advice and inspiration.
IMG_1578.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_1610.jpeg
    IMG_1610.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_1627.jpeg
    IMG_1627.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 0
Shop is 9x5m insulated steel shed from steeltech here in Ireland.
I costed up a blockwork shed with a cut roof, almost double the cost of this.
I costed up a timber built shed, which would have been a little cheaper, but my time is tight, this was ordered and 10 weeks later, was erected in one day.
New slab was poured inside and polished to anchor the whole thing down. a few days later, I started building out benches.

Last edited:
Welcome to UKW, I'm from Ireland also, midlands and I went a similar route to yours in 2015. I went with a 20 x 12 from Shanette, which has rapidly filled up! You'll find plenty of great advice from the members here.

Is condensation a problem? That and insulation are the two issues I have with metal buildings.
And maybe the appearance is a bit of a negative. Wood and brick are easier on the eye.