Newbie says hello

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colinj

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello, just joined the site, I would say I was a hobby Woodworker with a bit of knowledge but wanting to learn more.
Can anyone recommend a good Tenon Saw please I have a £100.00 Budget. I like the 12" Pax N01 as it was reviewed in an old Traditional Woodworking Mag (Oct 2000)

I want this one to last, hence my budget. Is this a good buy and what should I look for in the saw to make sure it is not bent or otherwise out of true.
TIA
Colinj.

Welcome to the forum Colin

Nice to have one more on here :)

( I wonder how many there are now :-k )

hi colinj
welcome to the forum

cheers mel

3 new members in one day
UKW getting very popular
N N will be along in a minute to say hi and welcome :lol:

hi colin j - what happens when we get up to colin z? will we get there before alf gets to 10,000 posts? is this the basis for another competition :lol:

Steve

BTW I am a writer not a professional woodworker. But I love getting out in the workshop and playing with wood. after a day at my desk.I have a lot to learn so excuse the "Silly Questions" Thank you for making me very welcome.
Colinj

Hi Colin

I have one of MikeW's backsaws gestating at the moment.

I had a specific cut I regularly need to make which is more rip than cross (12 degrees off the grain), and he worked through the ideal solution for me, requesting details of the woods involved and exact details of cut so that he could reproduce the task himself before making a recommendation.

1/4" brass back, 9 point, 16" x 4 1/2" rip with 'slightly relaxed rake' and 'fleam angle between a standard 15 degrees and 25 degrees.'

The blank was cut just over a week ago - woohoo!