Newbie - Finishing query

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrisfarrow

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here :D

Just started turning and as usual, addicted etc.

I was lucky enough to be given (on long term loan) a basic Clarke lathe which is good enough to get me started. Treated myself to some Sorby tolls and a Record bench grinder....only thing I've obviously got wrong so far is my waste bin is far too small :eek:

Here's a taste of what I've done so far....

_MG_9093.jpg

So, to my query......

Ignoring all other faults for the moment......when sanding I'm finding that in places I'm getting a good finish sanding through the grades on the lathe:

_MG_9094.jpg

_MG_9098.jpg

But, I'm also finding that in other spots it's staying quite rough:

_MG_9095.jpg

_MG_9093.jpg

Interestingly, or perhaps obviously to the tutored eye, the 'rough' spots are in the same place inside and out. So, presumably something to do with the grain? If not, what? If so, how do I deal with it?

Any and all advice / crots / etc very welcome......skin is very thick, offence is never taken :D

Oh yes,,,,lovely to meet you all!

Attachments

• _MG_9093.jpg
    _MG_9093.jpg
    85.8 KB · Views: 1,304
  • _MG_9094.jpg
    _MG_9094.jpg
    218.6 KB · Views: 1,304
  • _MG_9098.jpg
    _MG_9098.jpg
    148.9 KB · Views: 1,304
  • _MG_9095.jpg
    _MG_9095.jpg
    255.2 KB · Views: 1,304
  • _MG_9096.jpg
    _MG_9096.jpg
    149 KB · Views: 1,304
Hi Chris and well done on your turning mate, you have some nice shapes going on there.
what you are looking at is torn end grain, it's a common thing and we all get it. You can cut down on it by using a sear scraper or resharpening you tool for the last fine cut, but most people drop back to 80 grit when it's bad and power sand it away.
I hope that this helps Les

Hi Chris,