New table saw under £1000 ??

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julesbarn

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello to all workshop junkies!
I'm totally new here,so (hope not to bore you with..)a brief background and my current situation.

In my twenties I became a self taught woodcarver,and believe it or not,I managed to scratch a modest living from craft shop thingys to chainsaw carvings and all sorts of commissions.
In my late thirties I bought an old cob cottage to renovate,and accidentally became a builder,as people like!ed what I had done to my own home!
In my late forties, I bought a cob barn for conversion,and that's where I'm sitting now.(me and my family moved in recently).
I have now had enough of building,and want to work from home again. This is a big change for me; a new chapter,as it were. I built my workshop before I built our home (much more important!), so I'm keen to buy some new toys for my shed.
Not entirely sure what i will be creating...I shall see where things take me during this 'taking it easy' period,after 2 1/2 years of b arn converting(I did the whole thing on my own).

Soo....out with the site tablesaw for starters (anyone interested in a Bosch gsx10??!).
I want a nice cabinet saw for under or around £1000.
Been looking at the axy,trade 10" one (around £800 I think),but how does this compare,i wonder,with whatever else is out there within my budget (Clarke,record,sip etc...)

Axminster's service is really good, and I'm not too far from Axminster to go and drool over their stuff,but would really value your opinions on what might be the best buy currently for me, before I get too excited,wallet in hand, in the ax!monster showroom!

My wants...

10" saw
Quieter induction motor
Not interested in sliding table or extensions (I'll custom build extensions,outfeed table,sleds etc)
Decent enough dust extraction
Pref under a grand.