UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Self Taught

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All, I am new to your site, my name is Jamey, and as stated I am a self taught woodworker. I use both power and hand tools, I started working with wood, when I was about 10 yrs. old, as my parents purchased an old New England farm house, that needed much work, the house is circa 1850, I loved the past 45 yrs. working on it and learning a lot. I am looking forward to learning a lot here. I am just getting in to old wooden hand planes and there isn't a lot about them on the forums over here (U.S.), so I ended up here, am going to sit on the side lines for a wile as I need to find a good conversion site, to help me with the metric measures. Thanks Jamey

Hi Jamey,
Welcome. Lots of good info on this forum. As Steve says, both Imperial and metric are used. As a general rule the older generation think Imperial first while the younger members tend to think Metric first.
Cheers,
John

Welcome Jamey

Imperial for things longer than a ruler and mm for shorter :) Unless its 2" in which case imperial....oh and 4"

Also, the only forum rule....if you start a thread about sharpening, regrettably it carries the death penalty :)

Welcome, Jamey. Good to hear from people your side of the Pond interested in wooden planes.

Thank you for the warm welcome. I can assure all members there will be no sharpening, witch table saw, or the ever popular, "what's the best", I would rather be boiled in oil then get involved those. Hope all had a good day. Jamey

SteveF":1fltcb45 said:
Welcome to the forum

we use metric & imperial at the same time here :D

Steve

I quoted a customer only today for an 8ft x 1920mm sheet ! :) he didn't bat an eye and knew exactly what I was saying.

Welcome, please don't worry and dive straight in.

Most of us on here swing both ways :wink: