New Boy and spraying query

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alan Smith

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'd like to introduce myself to this forum. I'm a semi-pro furniture designer/maker (woodworking is my second career) I'm involved with the process right from the start in that I grow and mill my own timber. Most of my work load at the moment is built ins/fitting and trim with not as much one off items of furniture as I would like but I'm getting there.

My query today concerns the use of Osmo Polyx which is my favourite finish. I've used this for years and am more then pleased with results. However my workload now is such that I would like to speed up the process and have been experimenting with spraying. Now I will admit right at the start I know the square root of B -all about spraying. I was wondering if anyone could give some pointers ar share experiences re spraying this particular finish. Particularly with regard to setting up the spray gun and safety issues re fume extraction etc.

What I have equipment wise is a 3Hp compressor with 100 litre tank. The gun I picked up at the local second hand tool shop for a few quid is a Binks 222 with 0.060 nozzle. I've had best success using the PolyX straight out of the can with a fairly high pressure ? 2.5Bar I think. I apply and then wipe down just as if applying with brush or sponge. results seem to be good but would really like to know a little more about this spraying game.

Look forward to any replies.

Thanks,

Alan

Hi Alan,

Welcome to the forum.:D

That is a good first post, not many people have the time or space to grow their own timber, green, who me? :mrgreen:

I can't help with the spraying but there are a some members who do it on a regular basis, I am sure help with appear. :)