Nail gun advice for a newbie

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

George B

Reaction score
Hi, Looks like I’m going to buy a nail gun for a hall/Staircase panelling project and need some advice.

The supplier of the panelling has suggested one compatible with 40/50 nails, I’m going to going into plaster and brick.

I’m confused by the difference between 1st and 2nd fix guns, I already have an assortment of DeWalt cordless tools and was thinking of sticking with them and buying of eBay as I can’t see myself getting much use out of it apart from this project.

Any help and suggestions most welcome

I'm no expert, but I think 1st fix guns are powerful machines that punch in a larger nail and probably used more for structural fixings compared to 2nd fix guns that usually fire a 16 gauge nail that is used for putting finishing trim on, where the holding strength of the nail isn't as important.

If you have an air compressor, have you looked at the air powered nail guns. They seem to be a lot cheaper, though you do have a hose you need to work around.

First fix is meaty timbers roof timbers stud walls etc before the plaster board goes on. Big air or gas nailer.

Second fix is skirting and door hanging etc. Lighter smaller tool.

Totally different jobs.

You won't get nails into brick easily and plaster board they will pull out. Use a decent cartridge glue.

Use a second fix for fixing wood to wood.

Last edited:
Recently I was looking at the same thing and found that among second fix guns in DeWalt, there is a 16 gauge one and 18 gauge one. For general jig building or tacking glued joints together, 18 gauge is more useful. 16 gauge is maybe more apt for flooring /staircase work.

First fix is meaty timbers roof timbers stud walls etc before the plaster board goes on. Big air or gas nailer.

Second fix is skirting and door hanging etc. Lighter smaller tool.