Myford ML8 Advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MARK.B.

Established Member
Reaction score
Please bear with me as i am a complete novice when it comes to lathes and turning so i dont know the correct names etc for the various bits n bobs. Whilst talking to a old chap in the pub a couple of days ago the subject somehow turned to woodwork and i mentioned that i was thinking about getting a lathe as i fancied having a go at turning, he told me he had a old lathe and i should call round and take a look so i did just that and the lathe was a cream coloured myford ML8 with lots of bits n pieces including a planer attachment and a mortising attachment . It was obvious to me that it would need a lot of TLC as there was a lot of rust on the bed and most of the bits n bobs with a few items seized solid. Now i have read on here that the myford are a good make and the cream ones were the first to be made, my questions to those of you that may own or have owned a myford is can you please give me your opinions as to how much should i be paying bearing in mind that it runs but will require large amounts of elbow grease , would this lathe be suitable for a novice or should i think about getting a more modern one.
Sorry there are no pics to help you.

Regards

Mark

No question that it's a good lathe, within its limitations. Look back 40 years, and the ML8 or the Coronet were about the only affordable, useable lathes available. The ML8 had reasonable capacity over the bed and, with the accessory toolrest, for bowlturning on the outboard end of the headstock. The late Peter Child did most of his work on one.