My First Turning

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vulthoom

Established Member
Reaction score
Firstly, hello all. This is my first post as I am new to both the forums and to woodturning. Please excuse me if this first post is a bit long-winded...
My interest - Bowls!

I have spent the last couple of years dithering about buying a lathe and waiting until we moved house and I had somewhere to put one.
In this time I have read as many books as possible and watched all the video material, including those online at the Woodworking Channel.

I have to say that of all the vids, "Bowl turning with Del Stubbs" has been my favourite - his relaxed
"try what I say but do it your own way" approach is a pleasant change from the usual "this is the one and only way and you WILL do it".

Anyway, I'm drifting.....

Having finally acquired my lathe last week (a very nice second hand Draper WTL95 off Ebay) I set it up, ordered a new Patriot chuck
and some accessory bits and bobs and yesterday embarked on my first bowl turning.
I would say to anyone else in my position - just starting out - get hold of some videos and watch them.
Over and over and over.

By the time I was ready to put metal to wood I had absorbed so much technique that I felt like
I had been turning for months.
(Here I have to praise the generosity of the gentleman I bought the lathe from - the huge
selection of tools he threw in with it have been a godsend. Yes, a few were cheap and cheerful as he warned but,
under a very light surface rust, most were very good tools and have cleaned and sharpened up brilliantly.)
Yes, I had a few dig-ins but, as I was expecting dozens of wrecks at first, I was more than pleasantly surprised
when my first effort came off passably well.

For the first test turnings everyone suggested a nice soft, green wood to practice on.