my first project

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buffalobill

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi
I have just started woodworking and been using some of my hard earned cash to buy some good quality tool the last year. Been thinking what should be my first project for a while was thinking about a dovetail box or something but when my wife got pregnant i thought a cradle would be nice, probaly way out of my league but i will have a go at it.
Been looking at many different types of cradels at the internet and i found 2 that i like will try to mix a little of both and hope it dont end up like a frankenstein cradle.
The wood will be maple and walnut, i dont have any jointer/thicnesser so i will have to do it the old way.
Been working on the base for about a mondt and is more or less finished will try to take some picture of it soon.
As this is my first project i am sure there will be many screw ups and mistakes but i rekon thats part of the game, but hope to get some good advices here along the way.

If it helps my first real project was a cot too - finished it about 3 months ago, only about a month after the baby was born! It took me nearly as long to make as it did for my wife to grow our boy but was really worth it. I found this website pretty useful when I was working out dimensions for gaps between the bars and distance from the mattress to the top rail etc - http://www.productsafety.gov.au/content ... mId/975196 - it is the Australian standard for cot safety (I couldn't find the UK one anywhere but I'm guessing it's pretty similar). If you scroll down the actual dimensions are about halfway down. I used them as a guide and also measured a few in shops (fine in Babies'R'Us but they give you snooty looks in John Lewis!).

Hope it all goes well!