My first project - A chest of drawers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slarti42uk

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Well here it is, my first use of Sketchup to design the first piece of furniture I've ever made. Download SKP file

I'd welcome ANY feedback, criticism or advice. As a total newbie to this I've followed various books and online guides. But I don't know if the construction is sound.

I decide to start out with "easy to get hold of" materials from :oops: B&Q. The timber parts are all planed smoothed pine and the sheet material is 18mm birch ply for the side panels and drawer box backs, 12mm ply for the drawer box sides and fronts and (I think) laminated pine board for the tops and drawer fronts (although this may change to ply as I'm painting the whole thing.) The drawers are to use Blum tandem runners mounted under the drawers, for smoothness and ease of use.

It's for my 4 year old sons bedroom.

PS I've started on the build already, but only the frame legs and cross pieces done so far

There is a groove milled in the legs, top and bottom 5mm deep 1/4" wide and then a matching tongue all the way around the side panel. I was then hoping that glueing together would suffice. It seemed like it should give a reasonable structural bond.

Would there be any issue with the tounge part on the sides? It is 18mm birch ply (13 thin layers) so I would be taking just under 6mm off each side. It should still leave several layers of wood, 3ish?

Okay Paul. Thanks for that. I think it was a bit of belt and braces with me not quite knowing the strengths of the various joints and materials yet.

Cheers
Steve

ok and i am no expert :?

the following comes to mind though. how are you joining the legs together? and how are you joining the legs to the top?