My first box

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tsg

Established Member
Reaction score
Last year we had our old wooden front door replaced, I kept the wood and at last I decided
to try and make something from it. I am new to this kind of woodworking although I have
done some decking and fences and that kind of stuff.
I decided to try and make a jewelry box for the wife, and I was going to use the two lower
panels from the door. I drew up extensive plans on the bit of paper you can see at the back.

IMG00057-20121126-1127800x600.jpg

I started by sizing and planing/thicknessing the boards. Mistake number 1 already.
The boards are the right size for the box but the lid was supposed to be bigger and
so I had cut the boards too small. Note to self - make better plans next time.

IMG00059-20121126-1220800x600.jpg

After reducing the dimensions slightly I cut the boards to length and used my finger/box
joint jig to cut the joints. The jig is from Matthias Wandel on Woodgears.ca.
A strange bloke but obviously very gifted.

IMG00060-20121126-1257800x600.jpg

IMG00061-20121126-1306800x600.jpg

5 minutes to cut all the joints and a dry fit. Doesn't seem too bad.

IMG00063-20121126-1358800x600.jpg

The lid is routed around the edge and a small strip of pine inlay to break it up a bit.
I wish I had a contrasting hardwood but this was about recycling and the pine was from
an old bed frame. The mitred corners aren't perfect but they will do.

IMG00068-20121127-1411800x600.jpg

Lid and box sanded down and first coat of oil applied to the lid.

IMG00070-20121128-1107800x600.jpg

Mistake number 2 came to light at this point, when I had reduced the dimensions, I forgot
to reduce the height to keep the proportions the same. So back to the table saw to cut
2cm of the lid height.

IMG00072-20121128-1116800x600.jpg