My Favourite Christmas Gift(Not another neverending project)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wrightclan

Established Member
Reaction score
No, not a present I was given. My favourite present I gave. :D

A dollshouse for my daughter. I only started it about a week before Christmas. I've been threatening to make one for a few years. I was painting it on Christmas Eve :roll:. Only one coat so far, and lots of work left to do. But I wanted to get it presentable for Christmas morning.

dollshouse.jpg

dollshouse2.jpg

dollshousedrawingroom.jpg

dollshousebathroom.jpg

dollshouseplayroom.jpg

Still to be done:

Folding front, windows, dormer windows, doors, architrave, skirting, stairs, bannisters, slates, chimney caps, chimney pots, fire surrounds, lighting. And that's all before I even think about making furniture(I think we'll most likely buy most of the furniture.) This could get as involved as renovating my own house.:roll: ](*,) SWMBO even has ideas of adding a conservatory. :shock:

Seriously though, this has been an enjoyable departure from what I usually do. And my daughter absolutely loves it. :D :D :D

To me this is what creating hand made gifts is all about - the pleasure in the making and the pleasure it gives to others. Don't forget to make allowances for the lighting cable runs.

Nice job - reminds me of when my daughter was about that age,and had a dolls house very like that - she used to collect Sylvanian Families,so the house was full of them (and most of the very comprehensive range of furniture they do for them as well)

Wish we still had it :(

Andrew

Great job.
Reminds me of when I spent the best part of 9 months of spare time making a rocking horse for the christmas my daughter was three. She sat on it for all of 10 seconds before saying

"It's too big I want to watch ET"