My baby is all grown up now !

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian down london way

Established Member
Reaction score
This weekend, an experience that is definitely one for the memory bank.

Being an avid woodworker, my kids (two daughters) have been handy with tools for many years years. Apparently being able to hammer a nail in straight is something not all 5 year olds can do, let alone use a screw driver 'straight'.

Anyway, my eldest, now 23, did Architecture at University, which has plenty of small scale modelling involved - lots and lots of hands on work needed. Her home experience helped compared to many of her peers, it appears not many schools provide much wood based experience - especially girls schools.

Anyway, all finished now, and she's pursing a career in financial services (go figure!) and is renting in London. Most rental places won't let you do much to them, but she and a fellow ex-architecture student have just started renting a run-down kind of place in the Angel Islington - and the landlord is happy for them to do any small scale stuff they want (its going to be stripped and re-modelled when they leave).

So, last weekend, I finally got to do the parental - "right - lets get you equipped with a comprehensive DIY toolkit".

IT WAS SO MUCH FUN!

Only down market stuff from B&Q, but having spent a good 30 minutes on jointly choosing a tool box not too large to be stored in their flat, we then went up and down all the tool isles and it was like a supermarket mad dash! Helped by persuading her that cheap mains drill with hammer action (£30 for 600W drill + £4 extra to get jig saw - all own brand) was fine for what she had to do (she saw my Makita rechargeable at £159 and wanted that).