Minimum spend for a good starter table saw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arjay12345

Reaction score
Hi, newbie here.

I'm a keen DIY'er and have done lots of things around the house. I want to go to next step and make some proper furniture for the house. What's the min spend people think I need for a starter table saw? I see lots of saws around the £200 mark, but most reviews seem unfavourable. I'm happy to go higher if it's worth it. Are Metabo's good? Also thinking about the collapsable Axminster with wheels for easy storage

If you were me, which would you invest in?

Thanks in advance

If it were me it would have to have an induction motor - I can't stand the scream of brush motors. Something in the mid-market price range from Axminster, SIP, Record etc. Buy cheap and you'll regret it sooner than later and also regret the money you wasted. Been there :(

Having browsed various websites, I do agree with your comments. Ironically, those brands (along with Charnwood) seem to the novice eye, to be the more highly spoken about. My problem is that I'd love to invest in a cast top in-situ piece, but my shed needs a refurb (all that other junk) and the floor probably won't take the weight of one.

Hence, something that's moveable but reliable and accurate is preferred. Glad you said Axminster as their site contractor model with wheels may be my best option. Plus it's on offer at the mo.

Final option - does anyone rate the Triton Workcentre range? Plus side seems to be that you can get router table and other add-on bits..

What are you going to make the furniture out of? If it's sheet materials you may well be better off with a track saw than a table saw.