Microcontroller controlled Iris Dust gate and switch

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbo123

Established Member
Reaction score
Just finished this project ready for implementing in my workshed. A 3d printed iris dust gate to work with 40mm PVC waste pipe.

IMG_1189.JPG

You flip the switch and the iris opens, flip the switch and the iris closes. Sounds simple but required the servo to be adjustable (for closure accuracy) and upscalable so that more gates can be added to the hardware.

If anyone is interested in this my project should be here : Servo adapter for Saurons Iris Dust gate by jim123

Im not a programmer by any means, really just brought the work of two people together and very thankful. Sauron on Thingiverse who designed the iris and the UKHeliBob who programmed the servo. The rest I just threw together with an adapter.

Good for small spaces I thought and those on a budget with a hoover like shop vac such as me. Feedback and questions welcome.

Any chance of you taking a picture head on into the gate with the iris open, partially open and closed? Any fears of debris clogging the iris?

Pete

HI Pete, Literally just came off the design and manufacture stage, Ill test it in reality with the chop saw probably in a few days I hope using a bit of really dry chip board to see if it clogs. I dont think it will in my set up at least. Here some images of the open and closed. Ive just disconnected the armature to adjust as Ive realised I can get a little more movement out of it thus a mm of iris opening.

Attachments

• IMG_1191[1].JPG
    IMG_1191[1].JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_1190[1].JPG
    IMG_1190[1].JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
A video of the iris in operation during testing.

Attachments

• iris.mpg
    2.2 MB