Making a fence for a spindle moulder (from iron)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heimlaga

Established Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have a good design to share?

I bought an old Jonsered FM-C spindle moulder which had lost it's original fence. I got two fences with it but one of them is some kind of wartime substitute which never worked properly and the other which is a very good one does not fit the distance between the T-slots in the table of the Jonsered.
The machine is mothballed in an old hay barn for now but one day I will put it back to use. At this stage I am just interrested in coming up with a general design so that I can keep my eyes open for suitable materials when I visit the local scrap yards. I have some experience and with basic metalworking and I have several professional machinists amongs my aquintances.

I want the fence to have one half independently adjustable back and forth relative to the other fixed half. The fence should also have a built in dust hood that fits a dust collector hose and proper guards around the cutter head.
Any ideas?

I googled the name of the machine and this seems to be a similar jonsered, perhaps the pictures can give you some idea on how the fence looks and give some inspiration, I wouldn't really know what to look for:
http://www.klaravik.se/uploads/extrabil ... _large.jpg
http://www.klaravik.se/uploads/extrabil ... _large.jpg

Here's another
http://cdn.blocket.com/static/2/images_ ... 316964.jpg

And a Värnamo ad from sweden, it has some pictures of a fence which might help too:
http://www.blocket.se/stockholm/Bordsfr ... 356183.htm