L shaped hinges

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zipperhead

Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm a newbie as regards forums so please bear with me. I recently read an old article on making an Edwardian style writing slope which I thought would be an interesting winter project. Effectively, it is a simple box construction, cut on an angle and hinged to form a larger 'base' within which is set a two-part, hinged writing slope. The main box hinges using what I can best describe as two capital letters 'L', one upside down below the other, the pivot being along the base line - imagine a quadrant hinge without the stay. Size wise, I guesstimate each at around 1.5 inches per vertical by about 1 inch per horizontal. Despite my best efforts, I have been unable to find a supplier of hinges of this type. Can any of you more experienced folk help me out at all please?

Thanks for the kind words of welcome. I've looked up the article which appeared in the June 2005 issue of a woodworking and woodturning magazine, the slope in question having been made by Peter Dunsmore. A Google search under 'images' showed these hinges as fairly commonplace in usage for many of the writing boxes/slopes shown. Whether that was a case of 'then', as opposed to 'now' though, I don't know.

Is this what you mean with the hinges?

Writing.jpg

Hi Roger,
Yes, that's exactly what I've been hunting for - beautiful piece of workmanship as well by the way. Ideally, I'd be looking for the 'L' hinges, a full mortice lock, escutcheons etc, hopefully from one supplier (to keep costs down). Can you help at all?

I think I can hunt out the hinge supplier (give me a while) and some of the other bits and pieces, but the escutcheon was hand cut from some square brass as the lock was an old re-fit. There are some odd angles and pitfalls in that box, so make sure you've got a really good detailed plan!