Knotting, or how to stop the lid sticking on.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bod

Established Member
Reaction score
I've used knotting before, and always run into the problem of the bottle/can lid sticking on solidly.
How do you prevent this?
Would a smear of Vaseline on the threads before first use work or ruin the solution?

Bod

I've no experience of actual knotting, but for all such things where the lid/top is likely to get "glued" tightly in place - e.g. PVA, varnish, etc, etc, I take 2 layers of thin plastic bag (could be an old shopping bag, more likely a thin used freezer bag) roughly cut a fair bit over-size. Placed over the top of the container with the original lid/top then screwed into place. Makes a reasonably air tight seal and lasts for a few "unscrews/screw up agains" until it needs replacing with a "new" bit. Probably won't last for "years" but OK until you next need the contents every few weeks/months.

Surgical type glove between lid and bottle seems to work sometimes.

While we're on the subject if you had
a theoretical stupid friend who conversely had forgotten to put knotting on a load of new door liners and had just recently noticed that he had in fact forgotten because it was theoretically showing through the several new coats of paint.... could your stupid friend use a can of spray mould block paint he might have handy instead of rubbing back several theoretical door liners or perhaps just setting fire to the whole house, claiming on the insurance and just going to live in a tent instead.
Just in case this unlikely event were ever to occur it might be handy to know....

:|