Kit out a complete DIY workshop for £2.5k (or less if poss)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Triggaaar

Established Member
Reaction score
I've got my first workshop, which is 5.3m x 1.9m, and as I've needed tools I've posted the odd question. But as soon as I know which tool I want, I'm on to the next (as I'm fitting out the new guest house that's attached to the workshop) and I'm not sure what budget to set for each tool as I don't know where it'll all end. I know for many it never ends, but I'd like to get a better feel for the tools I'd like to accumulate over the next few months/year. So taking inspiration from the 5k Challenge thread I thought I'd post my own, but with it being less hypothetical (and closer to 2.5k challenge). I am a novice woodworker and appreciate that it's not wise to have all the gear and no idea, and I shall be working on my skills (trying to find suitable little courses)

Requirements:
I don't intend to make money from wood.
My next jobs in the guest house are to fit an oak floor, skirting and architrave (may make my own) and hang some doors.
Once the build is finished I'd like to be able to make an outside bench, and some things for my young children (eg basic table and chairs).
I don't intend to be able to make jewelry boxes etc, but I'd like to make the odd piece of household furniture.
I dable in property development, so I'd like to do more chippying work for myself in the future, as needs must (I'd rarely have time in a project to do too much)

Tools I currently own
Power:
Cordless drills
6kg SDS
DIY mains drill
DIY jigsaw
3" belt sander (not very good)

Hand:
very cheap chisels
hammers etc
Some Irwin XP quick clamps
engineers square
cheap jack & hack saws
collection of other basics, like screwdrivers etc

What I'd like:
A workbench (home made) - £200 ish, inc vice & dogs etc?