I'm sorry Dave, I can't let you do that...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve (Correze)

Established Member
Reaction score
(CNC has it's own problems)

Hi, introduction first, I guess.

I suppose I'm a professional cabinet maker, though that's a title I'd hesitate to use as I've always thought of a cabinet maker as a craftsman with about 50 years of experience and a bunch of apprentices, perhaps I'm an apprentice?

Anyway, I work in France in a large factory producing furniture, mostly for hotels, but also kitchens, desks, a bit of everything really. We work mainly with chipboard and MDF, rare to actually see any "real" wood.

I'm a CNC machinist/programmer. My usual "toy" is a Homag BAZ router/edgebander, similar to the one here, but an older design:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HteA3UVaDlk

We have 3 of these, plus another 4 routing/drilling machines (it's a big factory), so I'm generally kept fairly busy during the day running my machine (custom/one-off pieces) and keeping the others going (production runs).

CNC isn't always the magic it's presented as and brings it's own, unique, problems, as in the title of this thread.

You design the piece, write the program and everything is fine... you load it onto the machine and it starts correctly, then half way through, the machine comes to a halt with an error, "I can't do that."

This is normally followed by about an hour of swearing, shouting, kicking things across the floor and growling at temporary staff ;)

With the older machines such as mine, it's rarely an unsolvable problem, you just need to take a slightly different approach to the operation in question or fiddle a setting (e.g. giving an 18mm diameter tool a radius of 8.99) and off you go.