i'm a newbie and i need some advice on cupped Mahogany

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aisuru

Established Member
Reaction score
evening everyone, looks like a nice place, hope i can get some helpful answers around here.

some background first of all: i'm not a professional joiner by a long shot. i could have been, though, and i'm still angry at the careers advisers who told me, when i was leaving school, that there were few jobs for joiners going. i found out two years later than the construction industry was crying out for apprentice joiners, and so now i work in an office - won't name my employer, as it may turn you all against me. anyroad (sorry, i tend to go off on tangents quite a lot) i'm a bit of a newbie, having done no real woodwork since i left school about six years ago - and even then, i'd hardly call that 'real' woodwork. regardless, i'm building a guitar the now, with my bandmate Captain Circle-jack (a fearless and mighty pirate).

he decided he wanted a new guitar, and it had to be 'glam' and unique. however, he didn't want to pay through the nose for a professional luthier, so we hatched a plan involving eBay, a load of hardwood and some power tools.

we ordered a load of Brazilian Mahogany over the internet - 3M long, 295mm across, 50mm thick. i cut a bit off the end, and that's what we're using to make the body of the guitar at the moment. it's nearing completion, no real problems (apart from our incompetence, but that'll just add 'mojo' to the finished guitar!) but the plan for the rest of the wood is to cut it into strips and make 3-4 more body blanks out of it, either for more guitars in the future, or for eBaying to recoup some costs. problem with the rest of the wood is it's slightly cupped.