Hybrid / Resin Pen

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

speeder1987

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Well I thought I'd show you some of the stuff I've been turning. I'm really new to this, only got my lathe in July and haven't had much time to play with it. I've basically only made pens ...... and a LOT of scrap. I think this is the first pen I am actually happy with.

You will probably have guessed that the blank is from "From the Tree", the kit is from Axminster and I finished it with several coats of hut ultra gloss plastic finish.

Anyway, any comments / critisims / suggestions welcome

idhqa8.jpg

dff80o.jpg

2diq1vn.jpg

Cheers
John

That's a lovely pen. I've got some blanks from George and I'm summoning up the courage to decimate them with my bandsaw! They are a work of art in their own right!

It's a cracking pen but a suggestion. When using acrylic or blanks other than wood, look at the bushings carefully before cutting and drilling to see what the end thickness of the material will be. The fountain pen from Axminster, also known as the Traditional or one diameter (stiles and bates - much cheaper!) leaves a really thin veneer on the tubes and it may well be worth coating the tubes in matching paint before gluing the tubes.

Just had a delivery from psi with the bolt action kits in so will go and get a George blank and combine the two.

Can anyone offer any advice on the right sort of paint to use if you glue the tubes in with epoxy??

i really like the blanks and hopefully will be contacting george soon enough for some pen blanks, but can i ask, is there still a layer of acrylic over the top of the wood at this stage, or is it the wood prominent..

thanks

Thanks for all the complements guys :) I really appreciate it.

Neil Farrer":l2nu34th said: