how do i make a truly flat lamination

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dirtydeeds

Established Member
Reaction score
I need to make door stiles 150x34mm thick (finished). my source material is 170x20m par (finished size) american kiln dried oak

for a lot of complicated reasons the stiles have to be PERFECTLY flat

im very new to lamination. so i need your help

first

how do i make the lamination perfectly flat because although i can thickness timber i havent learned how to remove a bow

second

what is the best glue type for lamination

im not considering lipping the edges at the moment

dirtydeeds":2vxteeoq said:
although i can thickness timber i havent learned how to remove a bow

Normally this would be planed out first on a jointer (surface planer)or by hand, then this flat "face" side is used as a reference face for thicknessing. Hey presto, parallel straight sides.

thanks for getting back mark

jointing and thicknessing isnt the thing that eludes me, i can get 4 fully square edges

but some timber remains bowed even after that process.

how to explain what i mean.............?

lay a piece ive worked, on the chosen wide "face" on a flat surface, and either it is hogged in the middle or it rocks end to end

its removing this bow and or laminating in a manner that removes the bow that eludes me

the reason for considering lamination is that i have noticed that when i laminated a piece of 18mm oak and a piece of 10mm stock (last week first ever lamination 1200 long)

after removing it from the clamps it had removed a lot but not all of the bow.

i had clamped the lamination to a piece of flat large section meranti