How do I get into cnc

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Max Power

Established Member
Reaction score
What is entailed from having the idea to the finished article? I have no experience of cnc but have fancied getting one for a while to produce wood carvings

Well I'm a relative novice. but this is what I did / do.

I looked at the space I had and decided on which machines would fit, what their capacity was, whether they could be upgraded. I decided on the Saintsmart ProVerXL 4030. Bought a few more bits than what was supplied.
I then looked into what software was available - as a hobby user this had to be relatively cheap. I ended up going with Carveco, which is a monthly subscription you can stop / start as often as you like. There was a 3 month free trial with this, so it let me test it out beforehand.
Then it is down to you designing things in the software, sending it to the CNC and waiting and waiting and waiting.
I then upgraded the spindle to a dewalt palm router - much better.
Last thing I did was build an enclosure - saves the dust from getting everywhere.

IF you want a really informative (IMO) channel, have a look at https://www.youtube.com/@JamesDeanDesigns