Hot melt glue - some advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FrenchIan

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I've never used the stuff before, but it might help me out.

I'm still making end-grain coasters, by taking slices off a log (at the moment, spalted hornbeam) and cutting them square. I want the finished article to be slim (say, 0.7cm), so I'm cutting slices at 1cm and sanding them down. The problem is that they tend to warp at that thickness, making a lot of work to sand them flat again (hornbeam is amazingly hard.....). I have a static belt sander for the rough work, but mainly use sheets glued to glass, Scary-Sharp style, and it's hard going. Also wears down my fingertips...

So, here's the idea.

I cut the blanks at 1.5cm, and leave them to acclimatise. Those that warp, I sand flat on the belt sander. Then, using hot melt glue, I stick them along a plank of 18mm MFC, butting against each other. On each side of this long row, I screw (from below) small battens of softwood. These are there to provide some side support to the blanks, but mainly to give the thicknesser feed rollers something to grip.

Then, I feed this through the thicknesser (with new blades set to a fine cut each time). To begin with, it'll be the battens that get planed, but then it'll be the blanks. Once all the blanks have a clean face on them. I take them off, reverse them, and finish planing to the thickness I want. A bit of light sanding (no bandsaw marks to remove, now!) and bobs your uncle!

WILL IT WORK??

Cheers

Hot melt glue is quite thick and messy. it would stick your tiles down but unevenly, and if you could prise them off again in one piece I think the glue will leave a stain like mark.

The thicknesser bit is wishfull thinking, it will probabily smash the tiles to bits.