help with jet bench drill please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kross

Established Member
Reaction score
hi,

i've just bought a Jet JDP - 13 bench drill & set it up in my shed

i'm a complete novice with machines like this, but the intention is to make wooden boxes & hopefully mandolins

i'm very disappointed with the jet drill, though - there seems to be an awful lot of vibration, but i don't know what's normal for a drill like this - i've posted a video on youtube which i hope illustrates the vibration & i was hoping maybe some members here could have a quick look at the video & see if you think its normal/average or not

the vid shows a small piece of ply leaning up against the shank of a twist drill & being bounced up & down

any thoughts /suggestions would be very much appreciated -

youtube vid ; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3ihoXgG ... detailpage
thanks
chris

Are you certain your drill bit is dead straight?

Is it drilling unround (?) holes?

I didn't sound any worse than my drill press but then I have a cheap chinese BnQ jobby.

Tin

Hmm. I don't think that you little test is very demonstrative. What were you expecting the little piece of wood to do? It seems to me that it did just what one might expect.

The best way to tell if it is true or not is to use a DTI and a piece of silver steel bar.

S

Steve Maskery":8tdj3ij8 said:
The best way to tell if it is true or not is to use a DTI and a piece of silver steel bar.

S
you lost me there i'm afraid! whats a DTI?

i feared my vid might not give much of an impression -i can feel a vibration in the machine as i use it.

OK. A DTI is a Dial Test Indicator.
You chuck a piece of proper round bar in the chuck and set the DTI against it. It will measure run-out to a thou, perhaps a tenth of a thou. If it's within a couple of thou, I'd say that was OK for woodwork.