Help needed with woodturning project research

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alan Holtham

Established Member
Reaction score
Although this is a turning related query I hope it is posted in the right section as it is the non turners I need to address.

I am doing a little research for a DVD, where I have to show the making of a spindle turning project and a faceplate project for absolute beginners, people who have no experience of turning, but have just bought their first lathe.

If you were a complete newbie to turning what project would you most like to make bearing in mind that you only have a small lathe and basic tools?

Thank you in advance for any ideas.

Cheers,

Alan :D

I suspect a total newbie would want it to be as simple as possible, perhaps a stair spindle with a quirk just to keep it interesting.

Dom

The first real turning project I did (apart from messing around with scrap pieces of wood) was a simple pen kit.

The first thing I turned was a candlestick holder.(At the time,making a square piece of timber into a round one seemed like a major achievement in itself,without making it into something as well..)

Andrew

I went to evening classes for wood turning and the first project we made was a rolling pin. Good for learning how to cut parallel to the rest and some curves at the end.

If I were to buy a lathe, it would more than likely be to make round components for use in other projects, rather than for wood turning as an end in itself. Typical components I would envisage making would be round legs for tables, knobs for doors and drawers and tool handles (eg for chisels).

Cheers :wink:

Paul

Alan,