Hello All

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darren7106

Reaction score
Hi All, I have recently cleaned out my shed of all the junk and decided to pursue my life long dream and purchase a Myford ML7 lathe. I'm a 55 year old guy from West Wales who plans on locking himself away in his shed and start a new hobby of model making, Toolmaker by trade but left the trade years ago as I am now a Health & Safety Manager. I have missed working with my hands hence the plans to use my shed as a workshop. While sorting the shed out I realised I had a problem with my Clarke pillar drill, the drill would not stay on so I suspected I had a defective NVR switch. I have since replaced it but as soon as I switch mains power on, it sounds like the NVR switch is shorting out, so this is the reason for joining this forum so hopefully I can be pointed in the right direction as to a solution.

Thanks all and I look forward to reading and contributing to the forum.

Hi and welcome
For model making, you may find an ML7 a bit small and restrictive.
I would suggest you try for something with a bit more capacity and rigidity - you might pick up a Colchester Chipmaster or Bantam - both great lathes which would give you much greater flexibility in the jobs you might want to do. ML7's are overpriced for what they can do and you may get a better lathe for similar cost.
If you do go for an ML7, enjoy

While sorting the shed out I realised I had a problem with my Clarke pillar drill, the drill would not stay on so I suspected I had a defective NVR switch. I have since replaced it but as soon as I switch mains power on, it sounds like the NVR switch is shorting out, so this is the reason for joining this forum so hopefully I can be pointed in the right direction as to a solution.

Thanks all and I look forward to reading and contributing to the forum.